21 May 2019

Ed Stone to Receive 2019 Shaw Prize in Astronomy

Rick Fienberg, AAS Press Officer

This announcement is adapted from a Shaw Foundation press release:

At a May 21st press conference in Hong Kong, the Shaw Prize Foundation announced the Shaw Laureates for 2019. Among them:

The Shaw Prize in Astronomy is awarded to Edward C. Stone, David Morrisroe Professor of Physics and Vice-Provost for Special Projects, California Institute of Technology (Caltech), for his leadership in the Voyager project, which has, over the past four decades, transformed our understanding of the four giant planets and the outer solar system, and has now begun to explore interstellar space.

Edward C. Stone

Ed Stone is a long-time AAS member and was elected to the National Academy of Sciences in 1984. He has served as Project Scientist for NASA's Voyager mission to the outer solar system since 1972.

The Shaw Prize consists of three annual prizes: Astronomy, Life Science and Medicine, and Mathematical Sciences, each bearing a monetary award of US$1.2 million. This is the 16th year that the Prize has been awarded, and the presentation ceremony is scheduled for Wednesday, 25 September 2019 in Hong Kong.

Congratulations, Ed!