Search form

228th AAS Meeting Schedule and Events

Download the Meeting App

View the Online Program

View the Block Schedule (Updated 2 June)

View PDF of Meeting Abstracts


Undergraduate Orientation Reception
Sunday, 12 June  |  5:30 pm – 7:00 pm

Opening Reception
Sunday, 12 June  |  7:00 pm – 9:00 pm

Closing Breakfast
Thursday, 16 June  |  7:30 am – 8:30 am


Prize and Plenary Speakers

Photo of Gabriela Gonzalez
Gabriela González
Louisiana State University
"Observation of Gravitational Waves"
Kavli Foundation Lecture
Photo of Dan Irwin
Dan Irwin
"From Space Archeology to Serving the World Today"
Photo of Maura McLaughlin
Maura McLaughlin
West Virginia University
"The Brightest Pulses in the Universe"
Photo of Kevin Schawinski
Kevin Schawinski
ETH Zurich
"The Galaxy Zoo"
Photo of Jo Bovy
Jo Bovy
University of Toronto
"APOGEE: The New View of the Milky Way — Large Scale Galactic Structure"
Christopher Glein
Christopher Glein
University of Toronto
"The Ocean World Enceladus"
Photo of Shannon Curry
Shannon Curry
UC Berkeley
"MAVEN Observations of Atmospheric Loss at Mars"
Photo of Heather Knutson
Heather Knutson
"The Elephant in the Room: Effects of Distant, Massive Companions on Planetary System Architectures"
2015 Pierce Prize Winner
Photo of Michael Norman
Michael Norman
UC San Diego
"From the First Stars and Galaxies to the Epoch of Reionization: 20 Years of Computational Progress"
Photo of Dale Frail
Dale Frail
"Things That Go Bump in the Night: The Transient Radio Sky"
Photo of Tim Kallman
Tim Kallman
"X-ray Spectra and Photoionized Plasmas"
Louis Allamandola
Louis Allamandola
"IR Laboratory Astrophysics at Forty: Some Highlights and a Look to the Future"
2015 Laboratory Astrophysics Prize
Peter Beiersdorfer
Peter Beiersdorfer
Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
"Laboratory Astrophysics in Support of High-Resolution X-ray Astronomy"
2016 Laboratory Astrophysics Prize
Francois Lique
François Lique
University of Le Havre
"On the Importance of Having Accurate Data for Astrophysical Modelling"
2016 LAD Early Career Award