AAS Prize Nomination Form I

Use this form to submit nominations for the following AAS prizes and awards:

  • Chambliss Astronomical Writing Award
  • Education Prize
  • Dannie Heineman Prize for Astrophysics
  • Henry Norris Russell Lectureship
  • Beatrice M. Tinsley Prize
  • George Van Biesbroeck Prize
  • Joseph Weber Award for Astronomical Instrumentation

Other forms are available for the Annie Jump Cannon Award, the Newton Lacy Pierce and Helen B. Warner Prizes, and Chambliss Amateur Achievement Award.

Only AAS members are eligible to submit prize and award nominations. If you haven't already signed in, please click the "Sign In" link at upper right, then return to this form.

Please read the full descriptions of the AAS prizes and awards and follow the links to the individual prize and award pages to see eligibility requirements and lists of past recipients. We also encourage you to refer to our prize nomination checklists to help ensure that your nomination package is complete.

When submitting a nomination, even for someone other than yourself, it is your responsibility to ensure that the AAS receives all of the nominee's materials (e.g., CV, publication list, etc.).

The deadline for prize nominations is 30 June each year.

Fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required. All uploaded documents must be PDFs; no other formats will be accepted.

Submissions are welcome either electronically via this form (our preferred method), by email to aassec@aas.org, or by mail to the AAS Secretary: G. F. Benedict, McDonald Observatory, 2515 Speedway, Stop C1400, Austin, TX 78712-1205.

Abstracts of three of nominee’s meritorious publications
Three letters of support
Letter no. 1
Letter no. 2
Letter no. 3