Search form

AAS Informational Email 2008-16

Astronomy and Astrophysics Decadal Survey Committee Named

The membership of the NRC's ASTRO2010 committee, otherwise known as the Decadal Survey of Astronomy and Astrophysics has been announced. Comments on the membership can be submitted for the next 20 days via the NRC web page The committee's first meeting will be on December 5th and 6th in Washington DC. Information on the agenda is available on the same web page.

The members are:

Committee on ASTRO2010

Executive Committee
Roger D. Blandford (Chair), Stanford University
Martha Haynes (Vice Chair - Science Frontiers), Cornell University
John P. Huchra (Vice Chair - State of the Profession) Harvard University
Marcia Rieke (Vice Chair - Program Prioritization), University of Arizona
Lynne Hillenbrand (Executive Officer), California Institute of Technology

Steven Battel, Battel Engineering
Lars Bildsten, University of California, Santa Barbara
John E. Carlstrom, The University of Chicago
Debra Elmegreen, Vassar College
Joshua Frieman, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Fiona Harrison, California Institute of Technology
Timothy Heckman, Johns Hopkins University
Robert Kennicutt, University of Cambridge
Jonathan Lunine, University of Arizona
Claire Max, University of California, Santa Cruz
Daniel McCammon, University of Wisconsin
Steve Ritz, NASA-Goddard Space Flight Center
Juri Toomre, University of Colorado
Scott Tremaine, Institute for Advanced Study
Michael S. Turner, The University of Chicago
Neil deGrasse Tyson, Hayden Planetarium
Paul Vanden Bout, National Radio Astronomy Observatory
Tom Young, Lockheed Martin Corporation, Retired

Mailed US members from 25 November 2008

To read this AAS Informational Email online visit:

To read previous AAS Informational Emails visit:

To read previous AAS Action Alerts visit:

Comments and questions to: marvel at