AAS 205th Meeting, 9-13 January 2005
Session 105 Triggered Star Formation and the Orion Protostellar Population
Poster, Wednesday, January 12, 2005, 9:20am-6:30pm, Exhibit Hall

Previous   |   Session 105   |   Next

[105.03] 2MASS, MSX, and DSS Images of M17 and NGC 2175: Low-Mass Star Formation in Dense H II Region Environments

K. Snider, J. Hester, K. Healy (ASU)

We present 2MASS, MSX, and DSS data of two H II regions, M17 and NGC 2175, which are part of a statistical sample of embedded clusters in star formation regions within 2 kpc of the Sun. We have produced aligned images for each of the fields out to 2 degrees. Along with the aligned maps, we present color-color plots from 2MASS data which show the distribution of YSOs with circumstellar disks in each of the regions. MSX colors are also used to identify the embedded clusters, PAH emission, and ionization fronts.

M17 and NGC 2175 are only two examples of a complete survey we are putting together of low-mass star formation in H II regions. These regions are very different from isolated regions such as Taurus-Auriga, where low-mass stars are forming in relative isolation. It has been shown that the majority of low-mass stars form in dense clusters, where they are affected by nearby massive stars. Our statistical study will show the properties and processes associated with low-mass star formation in these dense regions, and how it is different then low-mass star formation in Taurus-Auriga. By using data from 2MASS, MSX, and DSS, we characterize the structure of the H II regions and identify young low-mass stars. For M17, the 2MASS source count data shows where there is the most absorbing material; it outlines the cavity of dense molecular gas that surrounds the blister H II region in M17. The MSX data for M17 also shows the ionization front and the photodissocciation region which are in the interior of the molecular cavity. We present similar results for NGC 2175.

Previous   |   Session 105   |   Next

Bulletin of the American Astronomical Society, 36 5
© 2004. The American Astronomical Society.