Search form

All Posts by Crystal M. Tinch

John Scoville Hall (1908 - 1991)

John Scoville Hall, director emeritus of the Lowell Observatory, died of heart failure on October 15, 1991, at his home in Sedona, Arizona. Hall was born in Old Lyme, Connecticut, the son of Nathaniel and Harriet Hall. Nathaniel Hall was a farmer and candy manufacturer; Mrs. Hall was a graduate of Wellesley College. John Hall attended Morgan High School; but apparently had little contact with astronomy until his sophomore year at Amherst College where he enrolled in an astronomy course taught by Warren K. Green. Hall's serious interest in astronomy began with this encounter.

Terrence James Deeming (1937 - 1992)

Terence James Deeming was born in Birmingham, England on April 25, 1937. He was awarded a B.Sc. in physics by Birmingham University and then went to St. John's College, Cambridge, where he received his Ph.D. in 1961. This was for work at the Cambridge Observatories under the supervision of R.O. Redman on the absolute magnitude effect in stars on the intensities of the Mg b spectral lines. In 1959-60 he was sent with a British government grant to the Radcliffe Observatory at Pretoria, South Africa, directed by A.D. Thackeray.

Murk Bottema (1923 - 1992)

Murk Bottema (no middle name) was born in Velzen, The Netherlands. He studied Physics at the University of Groningen where he received the B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. degrees. He was a research associate of Nobel Prize physicist Fritz Zernicke from 1947 to 1957 and 1962-1964 which shaped his lifelong career in experimental and theoretical optics.

Wieslaw Z. Wisniewski (1931 - 1994)

Dr. Wieslaw Z. Wisniewski of the Lunar and Planetary Laboratory at the University of Arizona died suddenly and unexpectedly on February 28, 1994 at 62 years of age. He is survived by his wife and adult son who both live in Tucson. Born on May 2, 1931 in Poland, Wisniewski endured many hardships while surviving the Nazi occupation of Poland as a young boy, and later during the communist regime there.

Sheridan A. Simon (1947 - 1994)

Sheridan A. Simon, Jefferson-Pilot Professor of Physics at Guilford College, Greensboro, NC, died on April 8, 1994 after a short but intense battle with cancer. In his living, and in his dying, Sheridan demonstrated how human life can have a point. He did this, in the obvious way, with a myriad of achievements that fill the pages of a curriculum vitae: teaching awards, books and articles of science and science fiction, computer software and imaginary planets; and an expertise in Anglo-Saxon history. But his life had a point both deeper and rarer than this.

Franklin Evans Roach (1905 - 1993)

Franklin E. Roach was born in Jamestown, Michigan, some fifteen miles southwest of Grand Rapids, on September 23, 1905. His father, Richard F. Roach, born on a farm near Grand Rapids, was an optometrist; his mother, Ingeborg "Belle" Torgersen Roach, was a housewife. She had come to America at the age of three, the youngest child in a large immigrant family from Larvik, Norway. In time Franklin had two younger brothers and a younger sister. When he was about five the family moved to Wheaton, Illinois, just west of Chicago and within easy commuting distance of it.

James B. Pollack (1938 - 1994)

James B. Pollack was born July 9,1938, in New York City. He died June 13, 1994 of Chordoma, a rare form of cancer. His parents, Jeanne and Michael Pollack, ran a family clothing business, Pollack's, that had been in operation since the turn of the century. When Jim was very young, his parents and teachers worried that he might be retarded! Fortunately, according to his sister Ginny Breslauer of Woodmere, N.Y., a psychologist recognized that he thought so fast that his verbalization got in trouble trying to keep up!

Erich Robert Paul (1943 - 1994)

Erich Robert Paul, Professor of History of Science and Computer Science at Dickinson College in Carlisle, Pennsylvania, died October 12, 1994, of cancer. He was most recently the author of The Milky Way Galaxy and Statistical Cosmology, 1890-1924, (Cambridge University Press, 1993), and an annotated translation of Henrietta Hertzsprung-Kapteyn's The Life and Works of J.C. Kapteyn (Kluwer, 1993). These detailed studies are important for an understanding of how our present view of the stellar universe developed.

Karl Gordon Henize (1926 - 1993)

Karl Gordon Henize, an astronomer, astronaut and then space scientist with NASA,died on October 5, 1993, from high altitude sickness on the slopes of Mount Everest in the course of an effort to climb that peak. In accord with his previously expressed wishes, he was buried on the mountain. Karl was born October 17, 1926, in Cincinnati, Ohio. He attended primary and secondary schools in Plainville and Mariemont, Ohio. He received a Bachelor of Arts degree in mathematics in 1947, and a Master of Arts degree in astronomy in 1948 from the University of Virginia.

H. Harold Hartzler (1908 - 1993)

H. Harold Hartzler was born in Fort Wayne, Indiana, on April 7, 1908, and died in Goshen, Indiana, on December 9, 1993. An undergraduate at Juniata College in Huntington, Pennsylvania, he completed his doctorate in physics at Rutgers in 1934 working on the ultraviolet transmission of thin metallic films under the supervision of Robert d'E. Atkinson. He taught mathematics and physics at Goshen College (Indiana) from 1937 to 1958, and was professor of physics and astronomy at Mankato State University (Minnesota) from 1958 to 1976.

Ingemar Furenlid (1934 - 1994)

Ingemar Karl Furenlid passed away on February 11, 1994, in Cambridge, Massachusetts, at the Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics, on leave from Georgia State University. His death at age 59 resulted from brain cancer. Ingemar was known to all stellar spectroscopists, not only from his nine years on the staff of Kitt Peak National Observatory, but also for his diverse and innovative research.

Clinton Banker Ford (1913 - 1992)

Clinton Banker Ford was born in Ann Arbor, Michigan on March 1, 1913, the son of a successful mathematician and a talented mother. His father, Walter Ford, was Professor of Mathematics at the University of Michigan. Walter authored several mathematical texts, edited the monthly magazine of the American Mathematical Association, and served a term as AMA President. His mother, Edith Banker Ford, managed a stable and nurturing home in Ann Arbor.

Michael Stewart Fieldus (1962 - 1992)

Michael Stewart Fieldus, a Ph.D. student in astronomy at the University of Toronto, died suddenly in Toronto on July 4, 1992. Born in Toronto, Ontario, on October 11, 1962, he was the son of Paul and Beryl Fieldus. He graduated from the University of Toronto, where he captained the swim team, which remained a passionate interest for the rest of his life. While in graduate school, he was awarded an Ontario Graduate Scholarship and three University of Toronto Open Fellowships.

John G. Bolton (1922 - 1993)

Obituaries for John Bolton, winner of the 1968 Henry Norris Russell Prize and leading radio astronomer at the CSIRO Radiophysics Division and California Institute of Technology, have appeared in: (1) Physics Today for April, 1994, (2) Quarterly J. Royal Astronomical Soc., Vol. 35, pp. 225-6 (1994), and (3) J. Astrophys. Astron. (India), Vol. 14, pp. 115-120 (1993).