Search form

After detailed study by an expert task force, the Astronomical Journal and the Astrophysical Journal family will be revamped to simplify the submissions process and enhance their content.

That thud you heard was the arrival of President Obama's fiscal year 2016 budget. Here the AAS public-policy staff presents "just the facts" about what's in the request for the astronomical sciences.

Thierry Montmerle of the International Astronomical Union has several announcements of interest to AAS members who are thinking about attending the IAU General Assembly in Hawaii this August.

The AAS Council has selected pulsar discoverer Jocelyn Bell Burnell (Oxford University) and exoplanet discoverer Michel G. E. Mayor (Geneva Observatory) as the newest honorary members of the Society.

Graduate students currently in residence at a US institution are invited to apply for the third annual Communicating Science Workshop to be held 18-20 June 2015 in Cambridge, MA. Deadline: 1 March 2015.

Focus Meeting #6 on high-energy surveys will take place 5-6 August 2015 during the IAU General Assembly in Honolulu. We invite your participation! Abstracts are due by 18 March.

A new alliance between NASA and the National Science Foundation will enable a community-based exoplanet research program in support of NSF research interests and NASA mission goals.

Observing proposals targeted to general exoplanet-related research are sought for the period August 2015 through January 2016 on the WIYN 3.5-meter telescope. Deadline: 31 March 2015.

The International Union of Pure and Applied Physics seeks nominations for its 2014 and 2015 Young Scientist Prizes in astrophysics. Each includes a medal and 1,000-euro cash award. Deadline: 1 June 2015.

Everyone who belongs to the AAS receives the magazine Physics Today as a member benefit. The latest issue is now en route to subscribers' mailboxes and can be accessed online.