Search form

The National Research Council's Space Studies Board is now accepting applications for its summer 2014 Lloyd V. Berkner Space Policy Internships. Deadline: 7 February 2014.

With Executive Officer Kevin Marvel on sabbatical, other managers on the AAS staff are taking turns writing this column. In this installment Rick Fienberg, AAS Press Officer, describes how he organizes news briefings at our semiannual meetings.

If you're an early-career astronomer originally from Scotland, you might have a role in a new TV program meant to inspire young Scots to consider careers in science.

The Exoplanet Exploration Program Analysis Group holds its 9th meeting on 4-5 January in Washington, DC, offering AAS-meeting attendees a chance to provide scientific and technical input to NASA.

This Action Alert requests that AAS members email or call their representatives in Congress to end the budget sequester and support strong investments in basic research. Instructions on whom to contact and how to do so are provided along with sample communications.

After 22 years at the helm of the Chandra X-ray Center, the science and operations hub for NASA's flagship X-ray observatory, its founding director passes the torch.

The American Institute of Physics (AIP), a federation of scientific organizations to which the AAS belongs, welcomes the AMS as its newest full member.

The Combined Array for Research in Millimeter-wave Astronomy is accepting observing proposals for the semester extending from 25 February to 18 August 2014. Deadline: 14 January 2014.

The Mikulski Archive for Space Telescopes (MAST) Discovery Portal provides a one-stop-shopping web interface to access data from all of MAST's supported missions, including Hubble, Kepler, and Swift.

Seven AAS members, including our President-Elect, are among the 388 distinguished scientists newly elected as Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.