Search form

US Representative Eddie Bernice Johnson of Texas has received the 2014 George E. Brown Award for her vision and leadership in promoting public policies benefitting science and engineering.

The AAS needs your help in getting due recognition for our most outstanding colleagues. Nominations and letters of support for the AAS prizes for 2015 must arrive in the Secretary's office by 30 June 2014.

All of our current and former John N. Bahcall Public Policy Fellows gathered for lunch with fellowship benefactor (and former AAS Vice-President) Neta Bahcall.

Cosponsored by the Committee on the Status of Women in Astronomy and the Committee on Employment, these interviews highlight the diversity of career trajectories available to astronomers both inside and outside of academia.

The LWA1 Radio Observatory invites applications for observing time between 15 December 2014 and 15 September 2015. Deadline: 15 August 2014.

The MWA low-frequency radio telescope in Western Australia invites shared-risk observing proposals for the period 1 July through 31 December 2014. Deadline: 18 April.

Each year, the federal budget process kicks off with the introduction of the President's Budget Request. Or rather, that's where it seems to begin for those of us looking from the outside in.

Videos of invited talks and prize lectures presented at the 223rd AAS meeting in Washington, DC, in January 2014 are now online for viewing by AAS members. You must sign in using your AAS username and password to watch them.

The National Optical Astronomy Observatory invites proposals for the use of its telescopes and those of its partners during the period August 2014 to January 2015. Deadline: 31 March 2014.

This year's forum, 21-23 July 2014, will feature discussions of exploration targets of interest, including the Moon, near-Earth asteroids, and the moons of Mars. Deadline for abstract submission: 26 April.