Search form

The Lancelot M. Berkeley New York Community Trust Prize for Meritorious Work in Astronomy is awarded annually for highly meritorious work in advancing the science of astronomy during the previous year. No restrictions are placed on a candidate's citizenship or country of residency. The prize may shared by up to three individuals and individuals are eligible to receive the prize more than once. The work being recognized must have been published in a peer-reviewed journal in the calendar year prior to the AAS prize nomination deadline.  The prize consists of a lecture and a monetary prize, which varies based on available funds, but will be $7500 for 2013 and 2014, split evenly between the winners of the award, plus travel expenses to attend an AAS meeting within 12 months to present the prize lecture.

Year Recipient

2016 Jan Tauber
2015 David Weinberg
2014 James Lemen
2013 Eiichiro Komatsu
2012 Linda J. Tacconi
2011 William J. Borucki & David G. Koch